Monday, July 25, 2011

My beautiful Indonesian archipelago

Indonesia is the largest archipelago and the fourth most populous country in the world, consisting of main islands like Sumatra, Java, Bali, Kalimantan, Sulawesi and Papua, with 33 provinces. It has a total 17,508 islands of which about 6,000 are inhabited.
It stretches 5,150 km betwen the Australian and Asian continental mainland and divides the Pacific and Indian Oceans at the Equator.The name of Indonesia is composed of two Greek words: “Indos” wich means Indian and “nesos” meaning islands .The capital city of Indonesia is Jakarta.
There are more than 483 languages and dialects spoken in the archipelago. There normally belong to the 350 different ethnic groups of population. Bahasa Indonesia is the national language, writen in Roman script and based on European orthography. In all tourist destination areas English is the number one foreign languages fairly spoken and written.
A unique marine biodiversity hotspot, the Wallacea region with 28,000 flora species from tiny rare orchids to the giant Raflesia flower. 3,500 species of animals including the endangered orangutans of Sumatra and Borneo, the unique giant lizard of Komodo, the horned Java Rhinoceros and the last Tigers of Sumatra.
The east monsoon from June to September brings dry weather while the west monsoon from December to March.Transitional period between these two are interposed by occasional rain showers, but even in the midst of the west monsoon season, temperatures range from 21 degrees C (70 F ) to 33 degrees C (90 F) except at higher altitudes, wich are much cooler. Heavy rainfalls are recorded in December and January. Humidity is between 60-100%.

No comments:

Post a Comment